Hyperbike riding in : (sunny southwest Europe) recently moved to less sunny northern Europe

Archive for 20/06/2012

Upgrades for the KTM SuperDuke

The Advanced Riding Course at AIA (Portimão) is litle more than a month away, so it’s time to get Karen some upgrades and crash protection (wich hopefully won’t be needed).

To help with the wind blast, I ordered KTMs Touring windshield, the standard wind deflector looks good but it’s useless at speeds above 170km/h, so hopefully this will help a litle.

The Touring Windshield costed 59€ and I’ve already fitted it, altough I haven’t had time to ride the bike to try it out. As soon as I do, I’ll update this post with a my first impressions.

The Standard and Touring Windshield side by side

Before and After

Also from KTMs Power Parts Catalogue came the passenger footpeg sliders, two small pieces of TPU plastic that costed 18,45€ and are suposed to minimize the damage to the rear of the bike in case of a spill. Fiting them required the use of a hammer to remove the pin that holds the footpeg. Even with the help of WD40, the pins was insisting it didn’t want to leave it’s place, so I had to hammer it out.

The Pin, locking ring and side plates of the foot peg.

The slider fits to the bottom of the footpeg

The footpeg retains full functionality.

I’ve also ordered a full set of crash bobbins (front axle, rear axle, Upper front frame sliders and lower front frame sliders) from Coyote Moto, wich costed around 170€. Still waiting for them to arrive, when they do, I’ll post the fitting process.