Hyperbike riding in : (sunny southwest Europe) recently moved to less sunny northern Europe

Archive for 30/06/2012

New Piece of Kit – Spidi JK Tex Jacket

20120630-203934.jpg

I’m pretty loyal to my bike jackets, I’ve bought 4 bikes, 3 helmets, 10 pairs of gloves but kept the same two jackets for the past 7 years: a short cut leater jacket and a longer waterproof textile jacket.

Today almost by accient ended up buying a replacement.

I had been looking at several jackets from the Dainese range, and really liked the Leather “Dainese Stripes Pelle in the Tobacco version, and the Textile Dainese Atallo D-Dry, one costing around 450€ and the other 300€! Today while looking for a light an cheap (50€-80€) vented (mesh) summer jacket I saw this Spidi JK Tex Jacket at discounted price – 140€ instead of 220€, tried it on (L – 54 size) and it fitted perfectly!

It’s an all seasons jacket, altough clearly biased towards Spring- Summer use. Only done about 50km with it so not much to write about yet, other than it is REALLY confortable, the fabric is soft and doensn’t require any break-in period. Not sure about the protective capabilities but it has CE armour (shoulders and elbows) and it’s made by a well known brand so it should be ok.

There’s (as usual) a pocket for an optional back protector which I’ll probably be buying sometime later, and a lace to atach the jacket to your jeans stopping it from rising while on the bike unfortunately there’s no Zip to conect to protective trousers. I have a pair of Spidi Hurricane H2Out trousers so I’m going to try and get a taillor to sew a zip on the jacket so that I can atach it to the trousers.

I’ll try and write a full review in a few months time, for the moment I’ll leave you with the review from Revzilla TV on youtube.

20120701-105843.jpg

20120701-105834.jpg


DYNO – 2011 ZZR 1400 Vs 2012 ZZR 1400

Actually the Dyno run is of a couple of ZX-14R (american version of the ZZR 1400) but other then the name difference they are basically the same.

The first dyno sheet I’ve seen of the new version vs the “old” one. Courtesy of Ricky Gadson at Bikerland.org

Dyno 2011 Vs 2012

30Hp more on the new bike at peak power and 41Hp more at peak RPM! Wow, this is serious improvement and a much bigger difference then the first numbers announced by the press.

This was the first comparative dyno I saw, and it’s accuracy may or not be very good, but it sure left me curious about riding the new bike…